No Fly Time
MENU

▚ LONG-TERM REVIEW ▚

Garmin Descent G2 Review: Is the Watch-Style Dive Computer Worth It?

The Garmin Descent G2 is a watch-style dive computer with a 1.2" AMOLED display, a 100-meter dive rating per its listing and Garmin's spec table, and Buhlmann ZHL-16c decompression per Garmin's spec table alone. Here is what both sources state, and the one feature Garmin's table leaves out.

Marcus FeldLEAD GEAR ANALYST
PUBLISHED
OCT 17, 2026
READ
10 MIN

Is the Garmin Descent G2 Watch-Style Dive Computer Worth It?

Yes, if you want one watch for diving and everything else. Garmin's own spec table pairs a 1.2" AMOLED display, a sapphire crystal lens and a 100-meter dive rating with Bühlmann ZHL-16c decompression with gradient factors and single-gas, multi-gas, gauge, apnea and CCR modes, and it matches the listing's battery claim of up to 27 hours in dive mode and up to 10 days in smartwatch mode. The thing to check against your own diving is what Garmin's table does not list: there is no air-integration or tank-transmitter row, so do not plan on wireless tank pressure from this model unless Garmin states otherwise.

Updated October 2026.

We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.

From the shop

Browse the shop →

Original designs from this site, made to order.

What kind of dive computer this is

The listing title calls it a "Watch-Style Dive Computer, 46mm, Black", and its bullets say it offers "support for all types of diving, including recreational, advanced, technical, freediving and pool apnea". Garmin's product page uses the same list on its dive-modes card and then itemizes the modes in its spec table: "Single-gas mode", "Multi-gas mode", "Gauge mode", "APNEA mode", "APNEA hunt mode", "Pool APNEA" and "Closed Circuit Rebreather (CCR)", each marked yes.

The decompression side is Garmin's statement, not the listing's. The spec table gives the "Decompression model" as "Bühlmann ZHL-16c with gradient factors", "Customizable conservatism" as "low/medium/high or custom using gradient factors", and "Deep stops" as "yes (using custom gradient factors)". Gas handling is spelled out as "Air, Nitrox and Trimix up to 100% O2; 1 bottom gas and up to 11 deco and/or backup gasses", with a PO2 setting "Up to 2.0 with customizable deco PO2 setting". The owner's manual puts the same limit another way: "You can have up to twelve gases for each gas dive mode." If you are choosing between algorithm families, this explainer on Bühlmann versus RGBM covers what gradient factors change.

Other rows in the same table: "Safety stop: yes (customizable off/3min/5min)", "No fly time: yes", "Dive planner: yes (basic NDL + multi-gas deco planner)", "Missed deco lockout: yes (can be disabled prior to dive with user acknowledgement)", and alerts described as "Audible and vibration alarms for ascent rate, PO2, CNS/OTU, NDL, deco, gas switching. Customizable (up to 40) audible and/or vibration per dive mode, based on depth or time".

Display, case, buttons and size

The listing's first bullet describes "a 1.2" AMOLED display, sapphire lens and leakproof buttons — plus a 10 ATM dive rating", a physical size of "45.5 x 45.5 x 15.2 mm", and wrist fits of "128-224 mm" for the silicone band and "128-373 mm" for the extra-long band. Garmin's spec table and owner's manual match each of those and add detail: "Display Size: 1.2" (30.4 mm) diameter", "Display resolution: 390 x 390 pixels", "Touchscreen: yes", "Leakproof inductive buttons: yes", "Lens material: sapphire crystal", and "QuickFit® watch band compatible: yes (22 mm)". Weight, which the listing does not state, is "65 g (case only: 41 g)".

One small mismatch sits inside the listing itself: its title says "46mm" while its own bullet and Garmin's table say 45.5 mm. Treat 45.5 mm as the stated case width.

Materials are a point of agreement. The listing says "100% of the plastic used to make the watch's housing, bezel and buttons comes from recycled ocean-bound plastics", Garmin's page repeats the claim, and Garmin's spec table names the bezel and case material as "fiber-reinforced ocean-bound plastic" and the strap as "silicone". Garmin's own blog adds one practical note about the screen: it "can be used as a touchscreen when above the water".

Depth rating, exactly as stated

The listing says "10 ATM dive rating". Garmin's spec table lists the "Water rating" as "Dive (100 meters)" and the "Dive activity maximum operating depth" as "100 meters". Garmin's owner's manual states the rating as "10 ATM", describes it as "pressure equivalent to a depth of 100 m", cites EN 13319 on its specifications page, and gives the depth sensor as "Accurate from 0 m to 100 m (0 ft. to 328 ft.)". The manual's underwater operating temperature is "From 0º to 40ºC (from 32º to 104ºF)".

Battery, charging and the GPS side

The listing's battery line is "up to 27 hours in dive mode and up to 10 days in smartwatch mode". Garmin's spec table carries the same two figures and adds the rest of the ladder: "Smartwatch: Up to 10 days (4 days always-on)", "Battery Saver Watch Mode: Up to 12 days", "GPS Only: Up to 20 hours", "All Satellite Systems: Up to 15 hours", "Max Battery GPS: Up to 44 hours" and "Expedition GPS: Up to 10 days". Garmin's parenthetical, "4 days always-on", is the figure to use if you keep the display lit. The battery is a "Rechargeable, built-in lithium-ion battery" per the owner's manual, charged with a "Garmin proprietary clip charger" per the spec table; Garmin's in-the-box list includes a "Charging/data cable".

On the surface, the listing says "Multi-GNSS support allows divers to mark surface entry and exit points so you can see exactly where you started and ended the dive". Garmin's sensors list has "GPS", "GLONASS" and "Galileo", and the dive table's row is "Automatically saves dive entry and exit locations: yes". Memory is "4 GB", and the table says the watch can "Sync dive log to Garmin Dive™ Mobile app", which the listing also names: "Store dive logs on device, and review in the Garmin Dive smartphone app".

Compass, alerts and two features only Garmin mentions

Garmin's table lists a "3-axis dive compass" "with adjustable heading, quick change to 90R, 90L and reciprocal" that "indicates degrees and direction back to set heading". The listing's bullets do not mention a compass, so that is Garmin's statement alone.

Two features appear only on Garmin's page. Setup sharing lets you "synchronize two compatible Descent dive computers, ensuring that each can function as a fully interchangeable backup to the other", syncing "gases, conservatism and alerts". And the watch can pair to an inReach device to "remotely trigger an SOS message while above the surface", with Garmin's footnote that the inReach is "sold separately; active satellite subscription required".

What is not on the spec sheet: air integration

Garmin's Diving Features table for the G2 runs from "Single-gas mode" to "NDL aware depth metrics" and contains no air-integration, transmitter or tank-pressure row, and the listing's bullets do not mention tank pressure either. So do not plan on wireless tank pressure from this watch unless Garmin states otherwise. If air integration is the feature you are buying for, this review of the Descent Mk3i is the one to read, and this Descent-versus-Suunto Ocean comparison frames the alternatives.

The smartwatch and health side

The listing lists "smart notifications (compatible smartphone required), Garmin Pay contactless payments (with a supported bank) and Connect IQ app personalization", "24/7 wrist-based heart rate, Pulse Ox, Body Battery energy monitoring, sleep score and more", VO2 max among its "advanced training features", and a "dive readiness feature" that works "based on your sleep, stress and recent exercise and dives". Garmin's table confirms dive readiness as a yes row, lists connectivity as "Bluetooth® Smart, ANT+®" and smartphone compatibility as "iPhone®, Android™", and adds post-dive activity guidance, which "alerts you when it may be a good idea to postpone your training due to a recent dive". Both sources carry the same disclaimer wording: this "is not a medical device", and "Pulse Ox not available in all countries".

Key specs

SpecAmazon listingGarmin's pages
Display1.2" AMOLED1.2" (30.4 mm), 390 x 390 pixels, AMOLED, touchscreen
Lens, bezel, caseSapphire lens; recycled ocean-bound plasticsSapphire crystal; fiber-reinforced ocean-bound plastic
Size and weight45.5 x 45.5 x 15.2 mm (title: 46mm)45.5 x 45.5 x 15.2 mm; 65 g (case only 41 g)
BandsSilicone 128-224 mm; extra long 128-373 mmQuickFit 22 mm compatible; extra-long adjustment strap in the box
Depth rating10 ATM dive ratingWater rating Dive (100 meters); maximum operating depth 100 meters
Dive modesRecreational, advanced, technical, freediving, pool apneaSingle-gas, multi-gas, gauge, apnea, apnea hunt, pool apnea, CCR
AlgorithmNot statedBühlmann ZHL-16c with gradient factors
GasesNot statedAir, nitrox and trimix up to 100% O2; 1 bottom gas and up to 11 deco or backup
Air integrationNot statedNo row in the Diving Features table
CompassNot stated3-axis dive compass
Battery27 hours dive mode; 10 days smartwatchSame, plus 4 days always-on, 12 days battery saver, 20 hours GPS only
Surface GNSSMulti-GNSS entry and exit pointsGPS, GLONASS, Galileo; entry and exit locations saved
ConnectivitySmart notifications, Garmin Pay, Connect IQBluetooth Smart, ANT+; iPhone and Android
Health24/7 heart rate, Pulse Ox, Body Battery, sleep scoreDive readiness marked yes; same medical-device disclaimer
In the boxNot statedDive computer, extra-long adjustment strap, charging/data cable, documentation

Where it fits

  • One watch for diving and daily wear: up to 10 days in smartwatch mode and dive log sync on both sources, plus notifications and Garmin Pay per the listing.
  • Technical modes: multi-gas, trimix, CCR and gradient-factor conservatism, per Garmin's table.
  • Freedivers: apnea, apnea hunt and pool apnea modes, per Garmin's table.

Where it might not fit

  • Anyone who wants wireless tank pressure. Garmin's table has no such row; see the Mk3i review linked above.
  • Always-on display users. Garmin's smartwatch figure drops to 4 days always-on.
  • Divers who want a universal charger. Garmin lists a proprietary clip charger.

Verdict

The Garmin Descent G2 is worth it for a diver who wants a full technical feature set, Bühlmann ZHL-16c with gradient factors, a 100-meter dive rating and a sapphire-lens AMOLED watch that also handles notifications, payments and 24/7 health tracking, and who does not need wireless tank pressure. The listing and Garmin's pages agree on the battery figures they share (27 hours in dive mode, 10 days in smartwatch mode); Garmin's pages add the rest of the battery ladder, and the only in-source wobble is the title's 46mm against a stated 45.5 mm case. Check the current price of the Garmin Descent G2 on Amazon; Garmin's in-the-box list includes an extra-long adjustment strap alongside the watch, the charging/data cable and documentation.

Where to buy: Check the current price of the Garmin Descent G2 on Amazon.

Sources

  • Garmin — "Garmin Descent G2 | Watch-Style Dive Computer" product page (specifications and In the Box), garmin.com, accessed October 2026.
  • Garmin — "Descent G2 Owner's Manual": Specifications and Dive Setup pages, garmin.com, accessed October 2026.
  • Garmin — blog post "Which Garmin dive computer is right for me?", garmin.com, accessed October 2026.
  • Amazon product listing for the Garmin Descent G2, 46mm, Black (title, brand and feature bullets).

From the shop

Browse the shop →

Original designs from this site, made to order.

▚ TRAINING NOTEDive within your training and certification. This is gear research, not dive instruction, and not a substitute for training from a certified instructor. Service intervals and no-fly figures cited on this site are illustrative — follow your manufacturer’s manual and your agency’s / DAN’s guidance.

Questions divers ask

Is the Garmin Descent G2 watch-style dive computer worth it?

Yes, for a diver who wants one watch for diving and daily wear. Garmin's spec table lists Bühlmann ZHL-16c with gradient factors, single-gas, multi-gas, gauge, apnea and CCR modes, a 100-meter dive rating and up to 27 hours in dive mode; the listing states the same battery figures and the 1.2" AMOLED display. It has no air-integration row on Garmin's table.

Does the Garmin Descent G2 have air integration?

Not per Garmin's spec table or the listing. The Diving Features table lists no transmitter or tank-pressure feature, and the listing's bullets do not mention tank pressure.

How deep is the Garmin Descent G2 rated?

The listing says "10 ATM dive rating". Garmin's spec table lists a water rating of "Dive (100 meters)" and a maximum operating depth of 100 meters, and the owner's manual describes 10 ATM as "pressure equivalent to a depth of 100 m".

How long does the Descent G2 battery last in dive mode?

Up to 27 hours, per both the listing and Garmin's spec table. Garmin also lists up to 10 days in smartwatch mode, 4 days always-on and up to 12 days in battery saver watch mode.

Which decompression algorithm does the Descent G2 use?

"Bühlmann ZHL-16c with gradient factors", per Garmin's spec table, with conservatism set to low, medium, high or custom gradient factors. The listing does not name the algorithm.

▚ DISCLOSURESome links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.

Reader favorites

The short list — full rankings on the best-gear board.

▚ DISCLOSURESome links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.

65 entries in the log

60 products vetted

3,717 reader price checks

Featured merch

The instrument line — gauge, readout, and no-fly graphics for divers who log.

Browse the shop →