▚ LONG-TERM REVIEW ▚
Suunto D5 Review: Is the Dive Computer Worth It in 2026?
The Suunto D5 pairs a color display with wireless tank pressure support, a digital compass and vibration alarms, per its listing. Here is what Suunto's user guide adds on depth, algorithm, gases, battery and the Tank POD.
- PUBLISHED
- OCT 17, 2026
- READ
- 9 MIN
Is the Suunto D5 Dive Computer Worth It in 2026?
For a recreational diver who wants a wrist-worn computer with a color display, wireless tank pressure support, a digital compass and vibration alarms, the Suunto D5 is still worth it in 2026: most of those features appear on both the Amazon listing and Suunto's own D5 page, and Suunto's technical specifications add a rechargeable lithium-ion battery, the Suunto Fused RGBM 2 algorithm and Bluetooth Smart. Know two things going in. The battery figure is a range, "up to 6–12 h diving" per Suunto rather than the flat "Up to 12H" in the listing title, and wireless tank pressure needs a Suunto Tank POD, which neither source, as read, says is in the box.
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
What both sources say the D5 is
The Amazon listing is short. Its title reads "SUUNTO D5 Dive Computer, Color Display 100m Waterproof, All Black | Wireless Tank Pressure Support, Vibration Alarm, Digital Compass, Extensive Scuba&Freedive Features, Up to 12H Diving Time", and its five bullets are "100m Water Resistant", "Wireless Tank Pressure", "Vibration Alarms", "Digital Compass" and "Wireless Mobile Connection".
Suunto's D5 All Black page lists the same ideas in its own words: "Wireless tank pressure support", "Extensive scuba and freedive features", "Digital compass", "Wireless mobile connection", "Vibration alarms" and "Rechargeable battery". It also says the D5 can be personalized "by simply changing the straps", and it names two pieces of software: the Suunto app, which the D5 can "connect wirelessly to", and DM5 desktop software to "customize and update the firmware". Everything more specific below comes from the Suunto D5 user guide, which Suunto publishes on its support site.
Depth rating, size and operating limits
The listing says "100m Water Resistant" in a bullet and "100m Waterproof" in its title. Suunto's technical specifications instead give a separate depth-gauge statement: "Accurate to 100 m / 328 ft complying with EN 13319 and ISO 6425", with a "Depth display range: 0 to 300 m / 0 to 984 ft" and a resolution of "0.1 m from 0 to 100 m". Those are the exact words; the 300 m figure is a display range, not a rating.
Suunto gives the size as "Length: 53 mm", "Width: 53 mm" and "Height: 16.5 mm", with a weight of "90 g / 3.17 oz". Its operating limits are specific: diving temperatures of "0 °C to +40 °C / +32 °F to +104 °F", a "Normal altitude range: 0 to 3000 m / 9800 ft above sea level", and a charging range of "0 °C to +35 °C / +32 °F to +95 °F". The listing states none of these.
On the display, the listing title says "Color Display". Suunto's specifications page, as read, carries no display line, so color is the listing's description and no size or panel type is claimed here.
Algorithm, dive modes and gases
Suunto's specifications name the decompression model as the "Suunto Fused™ RGBM 2 algorithm" with "15 tissue compartments". That matters if you have a preference between RGBM and Bühlmann models; this explainer on how RGBM and Bühlmann differ covers what the choice changes on your wrist.
The user guide's dive-modes chapter describes four modes: Air/Nitrox, "for diving with regular air and diving with oxygen enriched gas mixtures"; Gauge, a bottom timer with no decompression calculation; Free, for freediving; and Off, which switches the dive functions off for everyday wear. One rule is worth knowing before you use Gauge mode: "After diving in Gauge mode, decompression calculation is locked for 48 hours." You can also "change dive mode names via Suunto app".
Gases are set in the Air/Nitrox mode. Suunto's specifications list "Oxygen %: 21–99", and the gas-mixtures chapter explains that "by default, Suunto D5 has only one gas (air) available", with a multi-gas option you switch on. Helium is supported once enabled: "If you want to use trimix gas mixtures (with helium activated), you need to turn helium on under Dive settings » Parameters." The default partial-pressure limit is "1.6 bar (23 psi)", and for nitrox "Suunto recommends changing the partial pressure to 1.4 bar (20 psi)".
Wireless tank pressure: the Tank POD
Both sources advertise wireless tank pressure; only Suunto's page names the transmitter. The listing's bullet is "Wireless Tank Pressure"; its title says "Wireless Tank Pressure Support". Suunto's page names the device as the Suunto Tank POD, a "wireless tank pressure transmitter", and the user guide's pairing chapter says you can repeat the pairing "for additional Tank PODs and select different gases for each POD", with the display rule that "in the dive main views, only one tank pressure is shown and corresponds to the active gas. When you change gas, the displayed tank pressure changes accordingly." Suunto's specifications give the underwater receiver as "single channel 123 kHz" with a "Range: 1.4 m / 4.6 ft".
The word "support" is doing work in the listing. Neither the listing nor Suunto's page, as read, states that a Tank POD ships with the D5, so confirm whether the Amazon package includes one before you count on air integration out of the box.
Battery and charging
The listing title promises "Up to 12H Diving Time". Suunto's specifications are more careful: "Type: rechargeable lithium-ion" and "Battery life: fully charged: up to 6–12 h diving or 6 days in time mode". The two sources state the same top figure (12 hours); only Suunto gives a lower end (6 hours), so plan multi-dive days around that lower figure and the charger.
Charging is by cable: "Charge the battery by connecting Suunto D5 to a power source with the included USB cable. As a power source, use a USB port of 5Vdc, 0.5A or a wall charger." The guide also spells out the low-battery behavior. The indicator reads "Battery level is low. Less than three (3) hours left." and then "Battery level is low. Less than two (2) hours left. Recharge needed." Below that point there is a hard stop: "In case of scuba diving, when the charge level drops below two hours, you cannot start a dive with Suunto D5. For freediving, the limit is 30 minutes."
Compass, alarms and the app
Suunto's specifications give the compass an "Accuracy: ± 15°", a "Resolution: 1°" and a "Max. tilt: 45 degrees"; the listing simply says "Digital Compass". Vibration alarms appear on both sources. For connectivity, the listing's "Wireless Mobile Connection" matches Suunto's "Wireless mobile connection"; the specifications page lists "Bluetooth® Smart compatible" on a "2402–2480 MHz" band, and Suunto's product page describes the Suunto app for the phone side and DM5 for firmware updates and customization from a computer.
Key specs
| Spec | Amazon listing | Suunto's pages |
|---|---|---|
| Depth | "100m Water Resistant"; title "100m Waterproof" | Depth gauge "Accurate to 100 m / 328 ft complying with EN 13319 and ISO 6425" |
| Display | Color display | Not stated on the specifications page as read |
| Size and weight | Not stated | 53 mm × 53 mm × 16.5 mm; 90 g / 3.17 oz |
| Algorithm | Not stated | Suunto Fused RGBM 2, 15 tissue compartments |
| Dive modes | "Extensive Scuba&Freedive Features" | Air/Nitrox, Gauge, Free, Off |
| Gases | Not stated | Oxygen 21–99%; multi-gas option; helium can be turned on |
| Tank pressure | Wireless Tank Pressure Support | Suunto Tank POD; multiple PODs pairable; 123 kHz receiver, 1.4 m range |
| Compass | Digital Compass | ± 15° accuracy, 1° resolution, 45-degree max tilt |
| Alarms | Vibration Alarms | Vibration alarms |
| Battery | Up to 12H Diving Time | Rechargeable lithium-ion; up to 6–12 h diving or 6 days in time mode |
| Charging | Not stated | Included USB cable; 5Vdc, 0.5A USB port or wall charger |
| Connectivity | Wireless Mobile Connection | Bluetooth Smart; Suunto app; DM5 desktop software |
| Operating temperature | Not stated | Diving 0 °C to +40 °C; charging 0 °C to +35 °C |
| Altitude | Not stated | 0 to 3000 m normal range |
| Straps | Not stated | Changeable, per Suunto's page |
Where it fits
- A recreational diver who wants air integration available later, since Suunto's guide describes pairing one or more Tank PODs and showing the active gas's pressure.
- Nitrox and freediving in one unit: Air/Nitrox and Free modes per Suunto's guide, with the Gauge-mode 48-hour lock noted above.
- Someone who prefers Suunto's RGBM model to a Bühlmann computer.
Where it might not fit
- Long dive days without a charger. Suunto's range is 6–12 hours of diving per charge, and the computer will not start a scuba dive below two hours of charge.
- Anyone expecting a Tank POD in the box. Neither source, as read, says one is included.
- Divers who want a stated display size or panel type. The listing says color; Suunto's specifications page as read gives no display line.
Verdict
The Suunto D5 is worth it in 2026 for a recreational diver who wants Suunto's RGBM computer with a rechargeable battery, vibration alarms, a compass with a stated accuracy and tilt limit, and a path to wireless tank pressure through the Tank POD. The listing and Suunto's pages agree on every feature they both state, and the two honest caveats are Suunto's own: a 6–12 hour dive-time range and a Tank POD that is a separate device. Check the current price of the Suunto D5 on Amazon, and if you are weighing it against Suunto's AMOLED watch, this Suunto Ocean review covers that model; this ranking of dive computers by use case places both.
Where to buy: Check the current price of the Suunto D5 on Amazon.
Sources
- Suunto — "Suunto D5 All Black" product page, suunto.com, accessed October 2026.
- Suunto — "Suunto D5 User Guide": Technical specifications, Dive modes, Battery, Gas mixtures, and How to install and pair a Suunto Tank POD, suunto.com support, accessed October 2026.
- Amazon product listing for the SUUNTO D5 Dive Computer, All Black (title, brand and feature bullets).
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
▚ TRAINING NOTEDive within your training and certification. This is gear research, not dive instruction, and not a substitute for training from a certified instructor. Service intervals and no-fly figures cited on this site are illustrative — follow your manufacturer’s manual and your agency’s / DAN’s guidance.
Questions divers ask
Is the Suunto D5 dive computer worth it in 2026?
Yes, for recreational diving with nitrox, a digital compass, vibration alarms and optional wireless tank pressure. Suunto's page states those features, and the listing names the compass, alarms and tank pressure (not nitrox specifically); Suunto's specifications add a rechargeable lithium-ion battery rated at up to 6–12 hours of diving and the Suunto Fused RGBM 2 algorithm.
How deep is the Suunto D5 rated?
The listing says "100m Water Resistant". Suunto's specifications say the depth gauge is "Accurate to 100 m / 328 ft complying with EN 13319 and ISO 6425", with a depth display range of 0 to 300 m.
Does the Suunto D5 come with a Tank POD?
Not per either source as read. The listing says "Wireless Tank Pressure Support", and Suunto's page describes the Suunto Tank POD as the wireless tank pressure transmitter, but neither states that one is included. Confirm the package contents before you buy.
How long does the Suunto D5 battery last?
Suunto's specifications say "up to 6–12 h diving or 6 days in time mode" on a full charge; the listing title separately says "Up to 12H Diving Time". Charging is by the included USB cable from a 5Vdc, 0.5A USB port or a wall charger.
Which algorithm does the Suunto D5 use?
The "Suunto Fused™ RGBM 2 algorithm" with "15 tissue compartments", per Suunto's technical specifications. The listing does not name an algorithm.
▚ DISCLOSURESome links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.
Reader favorites
The short list — full rankings on the best-gear board.
FORENSICS Oxygen Analyzer for Scuba and Nitrox (0–100%)
$199.45
Check price on AmazonMares Quad Ci Wrist Dive Computer (Black/Silver)
$548.95
Check price on AmazonGoPro HERO13 Black
$429.00
Check price on Amazon
▚ DISCLOSURESome links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.
65 entries in the log
60 products vetted
3,717 reader price checks
Featured merch
The instrument line — gauge, readout, and no-fly graphics for divers who log.




